Cool Cairo Art Idea: One Year Project

Image by Moe courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

This really cool tumblr was sent to me by Hashem Kelesh via twitter. One Year Project is an experimental project by three very talented Egyptian artists, Moe Al Hussainy, Islam Shabana, and Hashem Kelesh, where they photograph themselves each day and send the photos to each other.

The three artists then adapt the photo into a unique concept, either via design, drawing, photography, illustrations, etc.

The artists aim to continue making new portraits for the next year, meaning 365 experimental works of art per artist. Three works a day (one per artist) means a very ambitious 1095 works in total. Ok, obviously I didn’t do the math; I just copied it off their site because I’m lazy like that. But still. That’s a lot of art.

Each of the artists has a distinct style, and the collection is crazy/eclectic, including my favourites below. It may not be the most sophisticated art out there, and I’m sure a few wise-asses will say ‘I could totally do that on my iPad’, but it’s an exciting project to keep your eye on. Can’t wait to see how it ends or where all this art is directed towards. And I would totally hang one of these prints on my wall, fellas. Hint. Hint. Hint.

Image by HL Kelesh courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

My favourite image, made by Moe courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

Image by Shabana courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

Image by Moe courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

Image by Shabana courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

Image by Shabana, courtesy of oneyearpro.tumblr.com

About Suzee in The City

Eat.Play.Love This City. Follow me on http://twitter.com/suzeeinthecity
This entry was posted in Cool Art Ideas and Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cool Cairo Art Idea: One Year Project

  1. I thought you liberals were big on individuality, even though its haram, but the repetition here is not as inspiring, even for us Salafis.

Leave a Reply

