Writing About Graffiti in Cairo- One Year On

‘Thawretna Hatekmal’ Our revolution will be completed by KIM

If this post comes across as offensive, arrogant or downright nasty to anyone, I apologise in advance; I literally woke up on the wrong side of bed and pulled a shoulder, so I’m cranky; plus this matter has been on my mind for several months now.

This time last year I launched this blog thinking a few people, including my friends, would read it, so I was extremely surprised and happy to see it circulated well, eventually putting me in touch with artists, institutions and media interested in Cairo graffiti. It’s been a great year to document this fascinating phenomenon, but I’d like to make the following points to those interested in writing about or contacting graffiti artists:

1. I am not their agent or your fixer; I will not pass on their personal contact info and I cannot pressure them into answering your calls or emails, into attending your events or endorsing your projects. I have included below a list of artists with their Facebook profiles; that way you can contact them directly and they will choose to add you and answer you if they please. If their name is not on the list, I can’t help you get in touch with them.

2. I am not a graffiti expert or authority. This is a blog, meaning i’m writing from a biased perspective. I do not represent or speak on behalf or take responsibility for anyone. If you choose to cite my opinion as a fact, that’s your decision, not mine.

3. It’s been fifteen months since the revolution. Find a new angle other than revolutionary graffiti/street art in Cairo. Even better, go outside of Cairo and explore the scenes in other governates. There have been countless articles published over the past year on the subject, so a fresh perspective would be great.

4. Please do not ask me to write your assignment/article/research paper for you. Cairo graffiti is extensively documented, and if you read all the online material out there, including articles and video footage, you’ll have a concise perspective on the subject. If you want me to do your research for you, pay me.

5. If you want to publish my photos and you’re a website I will give them to you for free in return for link-backs. If you’re a print edition, I will sell them to you. It’s that simple. Just because I’m not a professional photographer and living in a third-world country doesn’t mean I’m not aware that photographs are bought and sold and that newspapers and magazines have adequate budgets to afford them. I could tell you a few stories about which publications did what, but I’ll keep my mouth shut. However, in the case of a major publication that refused to buy my photographs, then lied to the freelance reporter who wrote an excellent piece about international street art, telling him they couldn’t find hi-res photos, thus not publishing his piece at all – I’d like to say: ekhs, etfou.

6. Please note that all, if not most of my images are watermarked, sometimes with a subtle white watermark. If you reproduce them without my consent, I will get in touch with you and pursue legal action.

7. There are great online archives available on Cairo street art and graffiti artists; you’ll find upcoming events posted, conversations between artists and stencils exchanged:

Revolution Graffiti- Street Art of the New Egypt

Mad Graffiti Week

Graffiti  in the Streets of Egypt

Alexandria Graffiti

Graffiti in Egypt

8. You can get in touch with the following artists via these links:

Sad Panda

Ganzeer or his website

Keizer or his website

El Teneen

Aya Tarek  or her twitter account

Ammar Abo Bakr

Alaa Awad

Zeftawi

Amr Nazeer or @AmrNazeer  on twitter

Kareem Gouda

Hend Kheera or @HendKheera on twitter

Hany Khaled or @hanykhaledhk on twitter

Mohamed El Moshir

Hanaa El Degham

KIM

Jo Ker

NEMO and his blog

Mostafa Tefa and his blog or @iTefa on twitter

Diaa El Said

Folan or @folanstreets on twitter

If you’re a graffiti artist and you would like your contacts to be added to this list, please leave your comment and I will update it.

Wa shokran.

About Suzee in The City

Eat.Play.Love This City. Follow me on http://twitter.com/suzeeinthecity
This entry was posted in Street Art Fascination and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Writing About Graffiti in Cairo- One Year On

  1. فين اسم اللي راسم الصورة دي ؟؟
    اللي راسم الصورة اخويا و اسمه كريم و شهرته كيم “KIM”
    و كمان اسمه مكتوب جنب الصورة ، ياريت تضيفوا اسمه
    و دي الصفحة بتاعته

    http://www.facebook.com/GRAFFEGY

  2. Dorian says:

    Good for you! I couldn’t agree more.

  3. Hey.. I’m KIM .. So
    where’s my tag in this link.. ?!

  4. Hasan Hamdi says:

    this should work, you’ll find it in album; Out of tales

    https://www.facebook.com/diaaalsaid

  5. quandlm says:

    Reblogged this on quandLM and commented:
    A lire !!! Valable pour bien des bloggeurs …

  6. marlaguette says:

    Chase your bad mood !!! Pschittt !

  7. Pingback: Revolutionary Grafitti in Cairo « POL 297 | The Arab Spring

  8. folan says:

    folan ,street artist ,Twitter:@Folanstreets ,you can see my latest pieces in my favourites :D

  9. sarvenaz says:

    Salam,

    Soeurs Egyptiennes, tenez bon, ne vous laissez pas faire par ces rustres maléfiques, défendez-vous contre ces lâches qui osent s’attaquer à une femme, alors que le prophète Mohammad (saws) a dit et répété, durant toute sa vie : Le meilleur d’entre les hommes est celui qui s’occupera bien de sa femme !

Leave a Reply

